Let’s have a Beer: It’s Serendipity

July 12 4:22am

Okay, here’s a warm up of drinking session. And this drink is for BEER! It’s been months since Lourd de Veyra had a speech on UP College of Mass Comm’s commencement activity. I knew that his speech became so popular that it became a trend. I just don’t know why I didn’t read it during that time. I just read it today. Maybe there’s a reason why I wasn’t able to read it while it was still hot news. Or maybe it’s because of serendipity(not the movie).

According to Kumpareng Wiki, Serendipity means a “happy accident” or “pleasant surprise”; specifically, the accident of finding something good or useful without looking for it.

Etymology(I added this so I would sound so intelligent, am I? haha): The first noted use of “serendipity” in the English language was by Horace Walpole (1717–1797). In a letter to Horace Mann (dated 28 January 1754) he said he formed it from the Persian fairy tale The Three Princes of Serendip, whose heroes “were always making discoveries, by accidents and sagacity, of things they were not in quest of”.

When I read his speech, I became proud; proud as a Mass Communication graduate and proud of him as our El Presidente. He is the president of the artists collective where I belong. We were not as close as the other council members, but his words are so powerful that it could change the way you view to some issues that will totally inspire you a lot. I remember the time when I had a conversation with him.

2 years ago after the first council meeting. Everybody’s having a great time, exchanging thoughts about social issues, artistry, politics, and so on. Everybody knew that I was a fresh graduate during that year and he asked me:

Lourd: Gusto mong maging news writer sa TV5? (Do you want to be a news writer?)

Me: (I don’t know what to say, but I impulsively answered) Hindi ako mahilig magsulat eh. Hindi ako into writing. (I don’t like to write. I’m not into writing.)

Lourd: Anong gusto mong maging? (What do you want to be?)

Me: Ah… I’m lost! Hehe

I was surprised by his answer

Lourd: Actually, it’s a good thing that you know that you’re lost. During your age, I was also same as you. I didn’t know that I will become a writer. It’s serendipity.

Sorry, I forgot the other details about the conversation but the last line was the most unforgettable lesson that I learned from him. The word serendipity marked on my head. I believe that our conversation was the bottom line of his speech.

Kampay! Well, I didn’t grab the opportunity to be one of his network’s writers. I really don’t know why during that time. Tagay ulit! Maybe because I wasn’t really serious about having a job or maybe I was so confused on which path I should be.

After so many thinking moments, I finally got the answer. It’s a matter of choice…and serendipity. If it’s for you, no matter how the world hinders your desire, it will still be for you.

Why? Why is that I graduated a bachelor’s degree but I ended up like this? I was vanished out of the scene (Crossfade Audio: Imogen Heap’s “Hide and Seek” start from the lyrics Where are we? What the heck is going on?”).  It’s God’s will. It’s not that he wanted me to suffer from my mistakes but he knows what and who I really am. He knows that I am not a family person so he gave me a family consists of a husband, a daughter, and me as a wife. A nuclear family; enough for small family relationship issues. That’s the word of the Lourd? The show isn’t over, I am still running towards the America’s next top model (Tyra Banks audio). 😛 To wrap it up, let me ask you some cliff hanging questions: Why are you here? Why are you on that track? Do you know that there are many fishes in the ocean yet God chose you to be like that? What’s that purpose? If you know the answer then congratulations! But if you don’t, remember this: If not now, soon. Cheers! J

Leave a Reply

